* in finnish *












Wristshakers started back in 1980.

Mikko Koivula, Hannu Lehtomaa, Pekka Pulkkinen and Kepa Härkönen started jamming together and they just knew it, that would be the band! “What are we gonna play?” Let´s play the Blues! So, it was blues from the beginning and still is!

Wristshakers started to do gigs all over, and soon they were a well-known, hot club band.

Over the years the band went through a few changes in the line-up and finally with Pepe Petranen (vocal), Kepa Härkönen (guitar), Hannu Lehtomaa (bass), Hande Mikkola (saxophone), Olli Harju (rhythm guitar), Mikko Silander (drums) and Pekka Marjanen (keyboards), the band started to record their first cd in 1995.

Five songs were recorded during one weekend!

As soon as “Wristshakers” -cd came out in the summer of 1995, the band got their first radio hit. “What it is” was big success and was played daily at prime time on the Finnish rock radio.

Wristshakers is still proud of getting some blues played on the Finnish radio!

After that Wristhakers have done two more cd´s and now new songs are waiting to be recorded.

Wristshakers has also been touring in Sweden, Norway, Russia and in Boznia-Hertzegovina.

Wristshakers has also performed on many major Blues festivals;

Lakeside Blues festival, Finland
Roots´n´River festival, Finland
Murmansk City Blues fest, Russian
Alta Soul&Blues Festival, Norway
Jyväskylä Blues Festival, Finland
Rauma Blues Festival, Finland
Kainuun jazzkevät, Finland
Varanger Festivalen, Norway
Ruska Swing, Finland
Ylläs Jazz-Blues, Finland
Korpirock, Finland
Kalotti Jazz Blues, Finland
Scandinavian Bluesparty, Finland

Wristshakers has also toured with Otis Grand, Eero Raittinen and Pepe Ahlqvist.

Check out the link pages, some of the band members are involved in some interesting projects.

Wristshakers members over the years are:

Mikko Koivula (drums) 1980-1989, re-join 2013 and go on!
Jussi Nykänen (vocal, harp, guitar) 2013 and go on!
Kepa Härkönen (guitar) 1980 – still go on!
Hannu Lehtomaa (bass) 1980 – still go on!

Pekka Pulkkinen (vocal, harp) 1980-1989
Keijo Pekkarinen (keyboards) 1985-1987
Olli Harju (drums/guitar) 1989-1998
Ykä Zimmerman (keyboards) 1987-1988
Pepe Petranen (vocal) 1989 –2013
Hande Mikkola (saxophone) 1989 – 2013
Mikko Silander (drums) 1993 – 2013
Antti Lassila (keyboards) 1993-1998
Pekka Marjanen (keyboards) 1995 -2000
Junnu Vitikka (keyboards) 2003 - 2006